January 1


January 1, 1808 The Act Prohibiting Importation of Slaves of 1807 went into effect. Specifically, the Act was a federal law that “prohibited the importation of slaves into any port or place within the jurisdiction of the United States, from and after the first day of January, in the year of our Lord, 1808.” President Thomas Jefferson signed the bill into law on March 3, 1807. The act effectively ended the transatlantic slave trade, however slavery continued in the U.S. until the end of the Civil War and adoption of the 13th Amendment to the Constitution.


About Author

Leave A Reply