April 1


Southern University and A&M College was chartered by the Louisiana General Assembly “for the education of persons of color.” Southern opened its doors in 1881 in New Orleans with 12 students.

Because Louisiana State University Law School would not admit African Americans, Southern University Law Center was established in 1947.

In 1974, the Southern University System was established consisting of Southern University and A&M College, Baton Rouge, Southern University, New Orleans, Southern University Law Center, Southern University Agricultural Center, and Southern University, Shreveport.

The system has approximately 8,000 students and offers associate degrees in 2 areas, bachelor’s in 42, master’s in 19, and doctoral degrees in 5. Notable alumni include Mel Blount, Avery Johnson, Randy Jackson, Branford Marsalis, Cleo Fields, and Jesse N. Stone.


About Author

Leave A Reply